Houck Memorial Scholarship


The James A. Houck Memorial Scholarship

Dr. James A. Houck (1941-1995) was a great friend of libraries. It is, therefore, a most appropriate tribute that each spring a $1,000 scholarship bearing his name is awarded to a student pursuing a graduate degree in Library Science. 

Houck Scholarship Winners

1995 Carla Buss

1996 Sheri Chalfant

1997 Cathi Cardwell

1998 Robert Hackley

1999 Rhonda Filipin

2000 Brian Brennan

2002 Judy Kerr

2003 Greg Ricker

2004 Christina Delfosse

2005 Amanda Wrataric

2006 Hayley McEwing, Abigail Colucci

2007 Cortney Parsons

2008 Andrea Burton

2010 Samantha Schneider

2012 Amanda Miller

About Dr. James A. Houck

A published author, poet, and YSU professor emeritus, Dr. Houck was also a library enthusiast and library supporter at the local, state and national levels. He organized friends groups at Youngstown State University and The Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County. 

In 1995, Dr. Houck was presented with a distinguished service award for his work with Friends of Libraries USA, a group he founded. The Ohio Library Foundation also honored Dr. Houck for his outstanding contributions to library friends groups. 

The Friends of Maag Library are proud of their long association with  Dr. James Houck.

Who can apply for the grant?
Eligible applicants are Youngstown State University students, graduates,  staff, or Friends of Maag library members. Applicants should provide proof of  acceptance into an ALA-accredited Library Science program.

How to apply
Application forms are available at Maag Library on the campus of Youngstown State University, in the Administrative Office or at the Circulation Desk.
The application is also available for download in PDF format.

When are applications due?
Applications must be returned by June 1. Please send your completed application to Maag Library c/o Michael Lisi.

When will the scholarship recipient be announced?
Announcement of the annual award will be made in July.